Plant Based Power Breakfasts

This winter I’ve been doing nutritional talks/tours at Farm Boy Pickering and Whitby as well as writing a column for the Brooklin Town Crier, both on the topic of plant based eating.

There is a surge in interest these days in cutting out or cutting down on animal products and I feel passionate about sharing my knowledge and my personal experience on this subject. I have found that I have more energy now, since switching my diet to plant based than I have ever had in my life. I used to say I was born tired, but no more.

The easiest meal to give up animal products is breakfast; skip the eggs, bacon, and breakfast sandwiches.  Start your day with some of the recipes below and you’ll have more energy. I promise. Keep in mind that plant based meals digest faster than animal product based meals so you will definitely need a mid morning snack. Carry something healthy with you so you are prepared and don’t grab for a sugary processed food snack.

I love light digestible breakfasts that fuel my day with energy. These breakfasts are high protein, gluten free and are nutritional powerhouses. It’s important to stop focussing on just protein and carbs and focus on high density nutritional foods.

There are many benefits to plant based eating; some people experience weight loss, better energy, reversal of diseases of affluence (Type 2 Diabetes and Heart Disease), hormonal balance, better sex drive and better recovery for exercise. I have also found myself surprisingly more compassionate and tuned into the universe. I can’t promise you these results as results are individual.

I’ve been carrying cold oatmeal topped with fresh fruit around as my morning snack and it’s been great.

On a more personal note my life is amazing right now, I feel so grateful and connected.

Plant Based POWER breakfasts.

Hemp Seed Smoothie

Organic Hulled Hemp Seeds

1 frozen Banana

1 chopped orange

3 tbsp hemp seeds

5 raw (unsalted) almonds

¾ cup water (or skip the 5 raw almonds and replace the water with ¾ almond milk)

Pinch of cinnamon

Dash of almond (or vanilla) extract

Place all the ingredients in a high speed blender and blend until creamy.

 

Apple Quinoa Breakfast Cereal

1 cup quinoa

1 ¼  cups water

½ cup apples – thinly sliced

1/3 cup raisins

Cinnamon to taste

1-2 teaspoons agave syrup (optional)

Rinse quinoa in cold water. Bring 1 ¼ cups water to a boil. Add quinoa, reduce heat to simmer and cook covered for 5 minutes. Add apples, raisins and cinnamon, then simmer for 10 more minutes or until all the water is absorbed. Serve with  almond milk.

 

Creamy Chocolate Hemp Smoothie for Two

Chocolate-Almond-Butter-Smoothie-Recipe-269x300

2 cups almond milk (see note)

2-3 pitted large Medjool dates, to taste (I use 2)

3 tablespoons unsweetened Dutch-processed cocoa powder

3 tablespoons hulled hemp seed

1 large peeled and frozen banana

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

4 large ice cubes

Add all ingredients into a high-speed blender and blend until super smooth.

Tip: 1) This recipe yields a fairly thin consistency. If you want a thicker shake-like texture, try reducing the milk to 1.5 cups instead of 2 cups or throw in a handful of chopped kale to up your nutrient value. 2) If your dates are a bit firm or dry, soak them in water for 30-60 minutes before making this smoothie. You can also swap the dates for liquid sweetener if desired. Just reduce the almond milk a bit so it’s not too thin.

 

Basic Overnight  Oats

Almond+Berry+Vegan+Overnight+Oats

½ cup oatmeal

½ nut milk

1 tbsp chia seeds.

Stir the 3 ingredients, place in container ( I love mason jars) and refrigerate overnight.

In the morning you will have oats!! Top with things like hemp seeds, fresh fruit, a bit of maple syrup, some granola or whatever you like.

 

With Love,

Sheree xo

 

Leave a Reply

