You are enough !

Fall is a huge time for people to get “back on track” and truthfully getting back on track seems to imply that you fell away from your “track” aka goals, plans etc…  But what if that were not the case? What if we just accepted that there is a natural ebb and flow to our energy and that sometimes we flow full of our power and at other times we ebb, in that we pull back and re-energise and just be. I like this better because I find that we (I) can be a little harsh on our selves. I am not sure where it comes from, our past, our culture, or our media, but in the end what matters most is that we can be too hard on ourselves.
For example, a few months ago I said to a good friend “I need to get my ass in gear”, I explained to her what I meant and she placed her hands on her hips and said to me “Are you crazy? In the last 3 or so years you have nursed a sick husband, lost a husband, moved, relocated your business, have a new relationship and some other very personal challenges”. She reminded me that I have gone through some of the top stressors that can happen to a person, so, if perhaps I hadn’t met some of my goals, maybe they needed to be re-evaluated.
If you have not done a lot this summer, then be okay with that, maybe you just laid on your dock re-energizing for a busy year because subconsciously your soul new you needed it. You are enough !! You/We/I cannot go full out all the time; we need sleep, down time, silence and time alone. So congratulations on having a slow easy summer, it was the perfect weather for it and now that the cooler days are upon us it’s time to harvest; go for walks, take that running clinic, hike with your dog and breathe in the prana that surrounds us. As always gratitude is my favorite spiritual principle, I am grateful today for my life’s path each and every day I am able to work with amazing people who inspire me to be better. If that sounds corny then so be it. It’s true, I love what I do and love the people that come into my studio.
I cooked a ton this summer and blogged very little as my schedule didn’t really allow me long times alone to write. I spent amazing days with friends and family and had a few very minor procedures in the hospital (just part of taking care of myself) and now I feel full of energy.
I’ve been uploading some meditations on sound cloud if you are interested please visit;
Just this morning I made strawberry freezer jam (recipe below), I love jam but don’t want the sugar or fake sugar so made this easy EASY recipe in less than 10 minutes. I’m going to be using it for cashew butter and jam sandwiches as a pre trail race snack on Saturday.
I purchased the new Oh She Glows Cook book but have yet to do anything more than drool over the recipes. Sunday I plan on making cabbage soup from a recipe in that book.
I love hearing from you and am so happy to be reconnecting with those of you that have returned for fall classes.
If nobody has told you this recently..you ARE enough..
With Love,
Sheree xo

How To Make Easy Chia Jam

Makes 1 1/2 to 2 cups

What You Need

Ingredients
2 cups chopped fruit
1 to 2 tablespoons lemon juice, to taste
1 to 2 tablespoons honey , agave, maple syrup, or sugar, to taste
2 tablespoons chia seeds, plus more if needed
Equipment
Measuring cups and spoons
Spatula
Saucepan
Potato masher, optional
Glass jars or other storage containers, for the finished jam

Instructions

  1. Prepare the fruit as needed: Remove stems, pits, seeds, and skin, as needed. Chop large fruits into small pieces. Berries can be left whole.
  2. Cook the fruit until it starts to break down: Transfer the fruit to a saucepan and set over medium heat. Cook until the fruit breaks down and becomes syrupy, 5 to 10 minutes. Mash the fruit with the back of a spatula or a potato masher, leaving it as smooth or as lumpy as you like.
  3. Stir in the honey and lemon juice: Off the heat, stir in 1 tablespoon of the honey and lemon juice. Taste and add more honey or lemon juice to taste.
  4. Stir in the chia seeds.
  5. Let stand 5 minutes, until thickened: This won’t quite reach the firm consistency of regular jam, but it will noticeably thicken. If you’d like a thicker consistency, especially with very juicy fruits, stir in more chia seeds 1 teaspoon at a time .
  6. Transfer to a jar or other storage container: Once the jam has cooled to room temperature, transfer it to a jar or other storage container. Store in the fridge for about 2 weeks. The jam will thicken further and become more set once completely chilled. The jam can also be frozen for up to 3 months; thaw in the fridge before using.

Recipe Notes

  • No-cook chia jam: Mash the fruit with a fork until pulpy and juicy, then stir in the rest of the ingredients. You can also combine all the ingredients in a blender, or use an immersion blender, and blend until the jam is completely smooth. Uncooked chia jam tends to be a bit looser and more sauce-like than the stovetop version; add extra chia seeds if you’d like a thicker consistency.
  • Getting rid of visible chia seeds: If you’d prefer not to have visible chia seeds in your finished jam, puree the jam in a blender or with an immersion blender. If you’d like to keep a somewhat chunky texture, blend just a portion of the jam with the chia seeds, then stir it back in with the rest of the jam.

Published by Sheree Nicholson (Yoga Sheree).

Plant-Based, Yoga & Fitness Studio Owner, Owner of The Brooklin Run Club. Owner of The Live With Spirit Yoga & Fitness Studio Lead Teacher Yoga Teacher Training RYT 200 & 500 Certificate in Plant-Based Nutrition from eCornell Bachelor of Metaphysics from UOS Currently working towards my Masters of Metaphysics Living life simply with my man and enjoying time with my family.

Leave a comment