4 Great Summer Recipes – Vegan, Gluten Free, Fresh and Simple !

 

The last few months have been a blur of busy, good busy but still a little too busy for my liking. My multi tasking skills are not what they used to be and truthfully I don’t like the feeling of rushing from one thing to the next. When I was younger I thrived on being busy but today I feel like I am missing the moments when I am rushing.

I love this weather and have been lucky enough to spend tons ot time outdoors in trails; leading boot camps, trail running clinics and just walking with Tom or friends. I feel great, I’ve been eating amazing foods, running and sleeping like a log.

Yesterday I met with my Dr. and was told that my health is excellent; my sugar levels, cholesterol and so on are perfect! What a blessing. So many of my friends in their mid to late 50’s are not receiving such great news and struggling to get into the habit of eating better and exercising. For me it’s just a part of my life, I couldn’t imagine not running or doing yoga.

Healthy food and exercise are just some of keys to great health, throw in some great sleep and meditation and the emotional and mental side get taken care of too.

I find too that the energy of the trees and nature sustain my stress levels, during the winter I started to feel tired and a bit overwhelmed and as soon as I started trail running again I noticed that I felt connected and more at peace. I realised that for me, I need the outdoors; it’s my time with the universe, where I clear my mind, listen to the gentle sounds of nature and find direction.

I’ve been teaching meditation and have recorded several short 15 to 20 minute meditations if you would like a copy text me at (905) 620-1151 with your name and request and I will text one to you. These guided meditations are great for slowing down your mind, relaxing your body and for sleep.

For me the keys to feeling amazing are; plant based whole foods, sleep, hydration, exercise, meditation and connection with the divine.

Some of the cool places I have been too on the bike are; Tyrone Mills north of Courtice, where we enjoyed some vegan baked goods. Tories in the Beaches a Vegan Bakery, The Green Smoothie Bar in Hamilton and The Lil Organic Kitchen (a new restaurant in Whitby).I hear there’s an ice cream shop in Port Perry that serves 7 different flavours of coconut ” ice-cream” and I am totally looking forward to the Copper Branch a Plant based restaurant that will be opening in Brooklin, check out their menu at .  http://copperbranch.ca/

I should say too that a bit of fun helps, I’ve been enjoying time of the motorcycle with Tom, trips to see his Dad, the Brooklin Parade and more. Here’s pics of some of the summer trips/days I have been enjoying.

new pics 012new pics 013010new pics 004new pics 017004

Try some of the amazing recipes for those pain in the butt vegans LOL, that come to your summer BBQ’s .

Watermelon Frosty

watermelon-frosty8

Frosty frozen watermelon, banana and lime blend up into this refreshing blended beverage.

Ingredients;

2 ¼ cups frozen watermelon, cubes

½ cup coconut water or water (add more as needed)

1-2 Tbsp maple syrup, grade B

1 large lemon or 2 limes, squeezed

1 fresh banana

Optional: add a few pinches of cayenne for a spicy kick!

Party cocktail version: add 1-2 shots of your fave alcohol

Directions;

  1. Add all ingredients to a high-speed blender like a Vitamix and blend until frosty. Note: Start off with just 1/4 cup of the water liquid and add more in splashes as needed to blend.
  2. Pour into frosted glasses to keep cool, garnish with lime or fresh watermelon sliced.

http://kblog.lunchboxbunch.com/2011/05/watermelon-frosty-or-margarita.html

 

Grilled Portobello Burgers

grilled portello

Ingredients;

2 medium Portobello mushrooms

2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

2 tablespoons plus 1 ½ teaspoons fresh lemon juice

2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

1 clove garlic minced

1 teaspoon dried oregano

1 teaspoon dried basil

¼ teaspoon fine-grain seal salt

¼ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Directions;

  1. Remove the stems from the mushrooms by twisting the stem until it pops off. Rub the cap with damp dishcloth to clean. In a large bowl, whisk together the vinegar, lemon juice, oil, garlic, oregano, basil, salt and paper. Add the Portobello caps and toss to coat them in the marinade. Marinate the mushrooms for 30 to 60 minutes, tossing them every 15 minutes (you can also marinade them over night).
  2. Grill until done to your likeness.

 

 

Cucumber Kiwi Salad Dressing

Ingredients;
1 cup peeled and diced cucumber
4 kiwis
¼ cup cold press olive oil
2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
1 lemon, juiced
¼ teaspoon sea salt
1 tablespoon organic cane sugar
Ground pepper
Directions;
Peel the cucumbers and kiwis.

  1. Place all the ingredients into a blender and blend until you have a smooth creamy texture.
  2. Pour on your favorite salad as a dressing.
  3. Keep in the fridge for up to 5-6 days.

 

 

 

Cumin Lime Black Bean Quinoa Salad

cumin lime

Makes 6.5 cups (or serves 4)

Ingredients For the salad;

  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa (or 3 cups cooked)
  • 1 (15-ounce) can black beans (or 1.5 cups cooked), drained and rinsed
  • 1.5 cups cilantro, finely chopped
  • 3 small/medium carrots, julienned (about 1.5 cups) OR 1 large chopped and roasted sweet potato
  • 4 green onions, chopped
  • fine grain sea salt & black pepper, to taste

 

Ingredients For the dressing;

  • 3 tablespoons fresh lime juice (about 1 lime)
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 large clove garlic, minced (or 1/2 tsp garlic powder)
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon pure maple syrup (or other liquid sweetener)
  • 1/2 teaspoon fine grain sea salt

Directions;

  1. To prepare the quinoa: Rinse quinoa in a fine mesh sieve. Add into pot along with 1.5 cups water or veggie broth. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to low-medium, and then cover with a tight-fitting lid. Simmer for 15-17 minutes until the water is absorbed and the quinoa is fluffy. Remove from heat and steam with the lid on for 5 additional minutes. Fluff with fork and chill in the fridge for at least 15 minutes.

 

  1. In a large bowl, toss the quinoa, drained and rinsed black beans, cilantro, carrots (or roasted sweet potato), and green onions.
  2. Whisk together the dressing in a small bowl or jar. Pour onto salad and toss to combine. Season with salt and pepper to taste. I prefer to enjoy this salad chilled, so I usually throw it into the fridge for at least an hour. This is a great make-ahead salad too – prep it the night before and let it sit in the fridge for up to 24 hours.

Read more: http://ohsheglows.com/2013/07/19/cumin-lime-black-bean-quinoa-salad-quick-easy/#ixzz2sCeyQ5W1

 

 

Leave a Reply

