Become a “body listener” – Mushroom Kale Soup

I’ve been busier than normal this past week and the week ahead is just as busy, as a result of my busyness I have had to be mindful of my food, it’s easy to just grab fast or takeout food but typically if it’s takeout it’s highly processed and expensive. Last weekend I went to the Motorcycle show at the CNE and had a Falafel , it was great, however very processed and left me feeling heavy and tired, so I went home that night and had a huge kale salad to offset the Falafel. I didn’t feel guilty for eating the falafel, I loved it!!! I just knew that the next day I had a 7k run on my schedule and the Falafel was not going to fuel that run with great slow burning energy. Since it seems that I will be busy this week too, I’m keeping apples, bananas, water and bars (raw food) in my purse for those times I begin to run low on energy.
I eat for energy; it’s my thing, while lots of people think about proteins, carbs, sugars etc…I prefer to think about what leaves my body feeling energetic and calm. This is why I eat  plant based , a plant based whole food diet gives me amazing energy and I avoid those lows that a heavy meat based or a simple carbohydrates meal will give you. I stress whole foods because Oreo cookies are vegan, however not full of nutrients. It’s easy to be a “junk food” vegan.
I first considered eating for energy after reading a book by Brandon Brazier, and then watching some online videos. In these video’s Brandon describes nutritional stress and I had an epiphany; all my life I had been craving more food because my body was starving for micronutrients and the stress was making me tired and overweight.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O59jaJ076TY

Switching to a plant based diet was a very mindful journey for me; I became a student of my body. I listened to its needs and often thought hmmm this meal left me feeling tired or this meal made me feel energetic, so the change became a natural process for me. I didn’t wake up one day and become Vegan, my body led me there, because I listened to it. In the yoga world we believe that the body is very wise, and will let you know what it needs; needs such as water, rest, better food and movement. We choose to ignore these messages or sometimes just misread them because we are not used being “ body listeners”. We tend to believe the sometimes harsh and crazy mental chatter in our minds. Being plant based has made me quieter and a listener to my bodies needs. Last night for example, I was crazing sugar, but the real craving was for rest, I have been busy, I worked out hard and was a bit dehydrated. So I went to bed early and today will drink more water. I did a gentle hip release yoga flow today and plan on running 4k.al-inspiring-quote-on-body-wisdom

Monday’s I generally purchase hot soup at the Farm Boy Grocery in Whitby, I love their mushroom and kale soup. I have about 45 minutes between a Brooklin client and a client at my studio, so I dash into Farm Boy for this delicious soup. I began thinking wow, it’s $2.99 a bowl maybe I could make it and bring it with me. I searched the internet and found the recipe, which I made with Sunday afternoon, using ingredients I had in the house. My home made version was better than the Farm Boy version. I substituted vegetable stock for the water because I didn’t have celery and threw in a few bay leaves for flavour, I also used baby Portobello mushrooms because I generally have them in my fridge, as I buy them at Costco almost every week. They have a stronger flavour than button mushroom, which is probably why the soup was tastier. I’ve eaten this soup 3 days now and it’s amazing, super easy to make and of course very inexpensive, because for me it required everyday ingredients. I used canned coconut milk that I had bought on sale a few months ago for less than $1 a can. I am now going to search out a good wide mouth thermos type container so I can bring my own homemade soups on the road. Not only will I save money but I will ensure that my meals are energetically strong.

 

Farm Boy’s Mushroom Kale Soup

mushroomkale

Executive chef Josh Drache says this vegan offering is Farm Boy’s most popular soup. They’ve sold more than 25,000 kilos of it so far this year, with mushrooms from Carleton Mushroom Farms. You can usually find this in the hot soup to-go area and in mason jars to take home.
2 tbsp (30 mL) extra-virgin olive oil
3/4 cup (180 mL) finely chopped Spanish or other sweet onion
3/4 cup (180 mL) finely chopped, peeled carrots
3/4 cup (180 mL) finely chopped celery
1 lb (454 g) button mushrooms, sliced
1 large Yukon Gold or other yellow-fleshed potato, peeled, diced
1 tbsp (15 mL) minced garlic
3 cups (750 mL) water + more if needed for thinning
14-oz (400-mL) can unsweetened coconut milk
4 cups (1L) packed, chopped kale (stems and large veins removed)
2 tsp (10 mL) kosher salt
1 tsp (5 mL) freshly ground black pepper
In large pot, heat oil over medium-high. Add onions, carrots and celery. Cook, stirring, 5 minutes. Add mushrooms, potato and garlic. Cook, stirring, 5 minutes. Raise heat to high. Add 3 cups (750 mL) water and coconut milk. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low. Simmer, uncovered, 30 minutes or until vegetables are tender. Stir in kale. Cook until wilted, about 5 minutes. Season with salt and pepper.
In 3 batches in a blender, purée soup on high until smooth. If needed, thin with additional water.

Makes about 8 cups (2L).

I also made this simple curried bean recipe, from the “nomeatathete”, I used left over brown rice, I always have tons of cooked brown rice in my fridge for brown rice bowls. I love this simple “monk like” meal.

Indian Beans and Rice

indian-beans-and-rice-photo

• 1 cup dry brown rice
• 1 can drained and rinsed chick peas, or 2 cups cooked
• 1 onion, chopped
• 1 clove garlic, minced
• 1 tbsp vegetable oil
• 1 tbsp curry powder (or paste)
• 1/2 tsp cinnamon
• 1 can diced tomatoes (with green chilies – optional)
• a thumb-sized piece fresh ginger, minced
• 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro

Cook the brown rice in a rice steamer or follow the directions. Heat up the oil in a large pan over medium-high heat and fry the onion for 5 minutes. Add the garlic and fry for an additional 5 minutes. Stir in the beans and heat through.

Stir the curry powder and cinnamon into the chickpea and onion mixture. Fry for a minute, then add the ginger and tomatoes and their juices. Cook on medium-high heat for 5 minutes, until the tomatoes no longer taste raw. Stir the cilantro into the rice. Add salt and pepper to taste.
Feeling fancy? Serve with warm naan and a side of sliced mangoes.
– See more at: http://www.nomeatathlete.com/rice-and-beans/?utm_medium=email&utm_source=become%20nma&utm_campaign=your%20first%20full%20day&utm_content=rice%20and%20beans%201#sthash.7gXZhJaA.dpuf

I love feedback so if you have a recipe or thought to share, please email me at sheree@livewithspirit.ca

Follow me on instagram at https://www.instagram.com/livewithspirit/ to stay uptodate on yoga poses, great vegan meals and more.

 

 

As always have an amazing day,
With Love
Sheree x0

Leave a Reply

