Plant based foods are the “yoga” of food !!!

It’s been an exicting time for me, I am engaged, there’s a ring on my finger , a man who loves me and we have decided we want to spend our lives growing in “union” with each other. I couldn’t be happier. I have had a great marriage and know that this too will be amazing.  It has felt so right with Tom from the first few dates. My late husband was one of my greatest teachers, he was my first spiritually conscious relationsip . He taught me that;

  • Life is short, live in the moment.
  • Love is acceptence.
  • Comprimise is not easy , but oh so necessary.
  • Men are awesome, I love their way of thinking.
  • Sometimes it’s ok to agree to disagree.
  • Tomorrow is a new day, lets sleep on it.
  • Love = support=respect

Sunday afternoon I was googling ” black bean vegan burgers” and every time I looked at a recipe I was missing a few ingredients, the weekend was very busy and I just didn’t feel like going to a store for a just a few items. So, I decided I should know enough by now to create my own recipe. I read a few recipes just to get a feel for ingredients and then I  created these great burgers, which by the way, are super cheap to make. I wanted them to be  gluten free because I have so many friends who are forgoing gluten. I also wanted them to taste good, I can’t stand blah food. The result was a pleasant tasting burger that was quick to make. I served it with salad greens and a great mustard, becuase I was saving room for a slice of apple pie Tom had purchased.
Eating whole foods gives you great energy, but it does take a little planning and sometimes I like to have fast meals. So I try to keep some frozen homemade burgers around, a few cans of chick peas ( for homemade hummus) and cooked brown rice to use in brown rice bowls. I could spend a day cooking and just be in my blissful place but there are times work/life demands mean I need a quick meal. Today for example, I cooked brown rice at lunch, then topped it will some left over marinated / grilled Portobello mushrooms, grated rainbow carrots, some chopped kale, a dollop of hummus and then drizzled some gluten free tamari on it. The result was great, a combo of good slow burning carbs, protein, greens and some colourful vegetables.meditation1

Plant powered foods are the yoga of foods, calming, good energy and easily digestible. If you are seeking peace in your life and want more energy try cutting back on heavy, hard to digest foods, such as meat, processed foods and deep fried foods.Try  reducing  your nutritional stress with a whole food plant based diet.  Drink lots of water and get to bed early.early to bed

 

Oatmeal is a staple food too. It’s the brown rice of breakfasts, it’s fast, inexpensive, and can be topped with so much “good for you” stuff, such as; seeds, fruit, dried fruits, nuts .

Here’s how your morning could look like. You get up; make coffee, boil some almond milk and add the oatmeal. Head to the shower with your coffee, while you let the oatmeal sit on the shut off burner. Shower, come out stir the oatmeal, add fruit, seeds…whatever and then enjoy. You just had a “fast food” breakfast. Faster than sitting in a Tim Horton’s line up and better for you. Less salt, unprocessed, plant powered (vegan) and it’s actually stupid easy.

Sheree’s Black Bean Burgers (Vegan and Gluten Free) 20 minutes in total.

black bean burgers
• 1 cup quick oats (use gluten free if avoiding gluten)
• 1 clove garlic
• Salt / pepper to taste.
• I can black beans, drain and rinse
• ¼ cup of chopped cilantro
• Juice of one lime
• 1 tbsp ground chia seeds or ground flax meal
• 1 tbsp coconut oil for frying (optional)

In a food processor, pulse the oats until they are almost flour like, leave a few larger bits for texture.
Add the rest of the ingredients (except the coconut oil) and pulse a few times until they are mixed but not completely blended, leave a few chunks of beans.

Remove blade from food processor, add a 1 tbsp of ground chia seeds or flax meal, mix by hand or with a spoon and let sit for 10 minutes.

Heat 1 tbsp coconut oil in you fry pan and cook burgers on one side until they are browned, then flip and cook on the other side. Don’t overcook as they will dry out.

These freeze great.

Tomato Soup

Last week I was chatting about tomato soup and how much I loved it, so I pulled this favorite oh-she-glows recipe out of the archives and it was better than I remembered. Very easy to make and packed full of flavour.

roasted-tomato-soup-11 tablespoon (15 mL) extra-virgin olive oil
1 small to medium yellow onion, diced (1.5 to 2 cups/375 to 500 mL)
2 large cloves garlic, minced
1/2 cup (125 mL) raw cashews, soaked
2 cups (500 mL) vegetable broth
1 (28-ounce/793-g) can whole peeled tomatoes, with their juices
1/4 cup (60 mL) oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes, drained
3 to 4 tablespoons (45 to 60 mL) tomato paste
1/2 to 1 teaspoon (2 to 5 mL) dried oregano
3/4 to 1 teaspoon (4 to 5 mL) fine-grain sea salt
1/2 teaspoon (2 mL) freshly ground black pepper, plus more as needed
1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon (1 to 2 mL) dried thyme
For serving:
Fresh basil leaves
Olive oil
Freshly ground black pepper

1. Make the Tomato Soup: In a large saucepan, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the onion and garlic and saute for 5 to 6 minutes, or until the onion is translucent.
2. In a blender, combine the soaked cashews and the broth and blend on high speed until creamy and smooth. Add the garlic-onion mixture, tomatoes and their juices, sun-dried tomatoes, and tomato paste and blend on high until smooth.
3. Pour the tomato mixture into the saucepan in which you cooked the onions and set the pan over medium-high heat. Bring the mixture to a simmer, then stir in the oregano, salt, pepper, and thyme, all to taste.
4. Gently simmer over medium heat, uncovered, for 20 to 30 minutes, until the flavors have developed.
– See more at: http://www.nomeatathlete.com/oh-she-glows-cookbook-creamy-tomato-soup/#sthash.I4m5GB4f.dpuf

If you are switching to an whole foods plant base diet you may crave old foods, try this easy meditation to help you make mindful choices. Sugar is an instant unstable energy that takes you up then drops you down (crash and burn). Plant based foods, whole grains and the like create a steady inner fire.

Mindful Eating Meditation

This meditation by Jamie Zimmerman, M.D., will help you learn to handle food cravings with awareness and intention. You’ll use the acronym STOP to help you through moments of fear and weakness. “S” stands for simply that: stop. “T” stands for “take three deep breaths.” “O” stands for “observe.” “P” stands for “proceed,” in a way that supports you and those around you. You’ll use this acronym to understand where the craving is coming from and what it means. What thoughts are going through your head right now? What is your craving telling you? What do you imagine will happen if you act on the craving? Breathe deeply and allow yourself to discover what you truly need.

With Love,

Sheree x0

Leave a Reply

