Peanut lime dressing, snacks for energy and getting your ZZZZZ’s

I continue to feel amazing this month, I think the combination of going to bed at 9:30pm, focusing on good quality foods, and being grateful have really put me in a good place mentally, physically and spiritually. Sleep is so important, I generally sleep well but can be a bit of a night hawk, so going to bed early challenges me. I however, love the benefits; I get up earlier, have more energy, and I get tons done before work. Today for example, I meditated, did some yoga, worked on a class plan and emptied the dishwasher all before 8:15am. I now feel ready for what the day presents to me. I am meeting a friend at 10:30am for my first trail run since my shoulder injury, if it’s icy I may just walk, I don’t want to risk re-injuring my shoulder, my injury is no longer painful however the arm is still weak and not funtioning 100% yet.

A good friend of mine who is male, has always prided himself on being driven, successful and needing very little sleep, however as he ages, he is searching for new ways of living (ages does that too us lol), he too is going to bed early and loving it. Here’s a link to some of the benefits of sleep, it’s our reset time, the body needs to shut down to build and repair, as well, spiritually we need to rest as we connect with higher consciousness while we sleep. I often wake up with the solution to a problem or  new idea, which I believe is a message from the universe.

http://www.businessinsider.com/why-sleep-is-important-2014-12

Sleep can come slowly some nights and more quickly other nights, however, just resting is good for the body and soul. If you struggle a bit with sleep try turning off technology early as it’s a stimulant. Some gentle breathing exercises or yoga nidra might help. I have used a form of yoga nidra since I was very young, as a child I would lie in bed and guide myself through a series  relaxing the body parts.  I am not sure where I learnt this technique, however being a child of the 60’s it was probably from TV.

hippyThe Hippy culture was abundant when I was a child and there are many things I gleamed from it. Here’s a link to a guided yoga nidra, however, keep in mind you can do this yourself. Maybe use the link to teach yourself the process.

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mkx88_3cD-s

I was inspired to create some great snacks for work this week, by a speaker Tara (and friend) who came to run club. I took beautiful Medjool dates, removed the seeds, spread them with peanut butter (use any seed or nut butter), topped it with a bit of shredded coconut and a few cacoa nibs. You can also use hemp hearts as a topping. They are a real treat, whole unprocessed foods, that fueled me for a busy day. Cocoa nibs (raw) can be bitter, however the dates sweeten them . I purchased just a very small scoop of them at a health food store in the bulk section for about $0.81. A larger bag would have sat in my cupboard for years and made this an expensive snack.blog 015

You can read some of Tara’s recipes and notes from her run club talk here

https://thebrooklinrunclub.wordpress.com/2016/02/11/eating-to-feel-good-for-energy-and-running-tara-doliveira/

 

I made this recipe this morning too, I am going to use it for a salad (romaine hearts were on special this week), I will add some hemp hearts and grated beets to the salad for varietyThe recipe makes enough that I will use it on cold noodles for dinner. I cut back on the oil quite a bit, sounded like too much for me and the recipe still worked great. You can add a touch more peanut butter if it doesn’t thicken, but mine was fine. It comes for the Fresh cookbook.

cookbooks_freshcover

Peanut Lime Dressing (Makes 1 cup):

3 cloves garlic, minced (about 1 tbsp)
2 tbsp tightly packed cilantro
2 tbsp natural peanut butter
2 tbsp + 2 tsp lime juice
1 tbsp + 1/2 tsp tamari
1 tbsp rice vinegar
1 tbsp peeled and chopped ginger
2 tsp coconut milk
1 1/2 tsp organic sugar
3/4 tsp sesame oil
3/4 tsp sambal oelek
1/2 cup sunflower oil (MAY USE LESS OIL)

Mix all the ingredients in a blender, except for the sunflower oil, pour it in very slowly at the end until the dressing emusifies.

 

 

I’m teaching an intro to meditaiton class at my studio if you are interested, it’s half full now so email me if you have some questions.

Introduction to Meditation Class
 

Meditation+class+istock_mid

Wednesday 8:15pm (45 minutes) – Special 6 week Introduction to Meditation Class
Start Date is Wednesday February 24th.
Fee is $75.00 plus HST
Learn the basics of meditation, it’s benefits and a variety of meditation styles.

sheree@livewithspirit.ca

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

