Red lentil curry, squash soup. Join my gratitude challenge :)

monday-quotes-gratitude-quotes-5

In keeping with the concept of living simply I have been using up foods in the freezer for both Tom and I. Tom is a diehard meat eater and I don’t try to change him. My life, my choices! His life, his choices!. I do try to cook healthy for him and yes at times I’m a little grossed out by meat, but I love Tom and part of the way I show my love is to cook for him.

Like a lot of men Tom loves to be cooked for, so for us it’s a win win situation. I believe that in a relationship whether it be a romantic one, a mother/child relationship or a friendship, we show our love by doing acts of service for each other, these acts can be a wide range of things. For example; I love to cook and Tom understands that cooking for him, is part of my love language. Last week my daughter took my car for an oil change. Saturday Tom took me to dinner and a movie.

The last few weeks I had been searching for a good butternut soup recipe and for some reason none appealed to me. I wanted a recipe with  easy ingredients that I had on hand and I  didn’t want to spend more money. I finally decided to try to make my own soup without a recipe. I typically bomb at creating my own recipes so did this knowing that it might not work out, but it did, in fact the soup is great. This recipe is not exact, I winged it a bit, but I don’t think you could go wrong by following it (tweak it as you see fit). I used up some frozen butternut squash before freezer burn set in. It’s a creamy soup, easy and inexpensive and I have some left over coconut milk which I will use later in a smoothie or oatmeal.

I’m happy to report that my shoulder is on the mend, I’m out of the really bad pain place but I still don’t have full use of the arm, I have to brush my teeth with my left arm which feels weird, and can’t lift with it. However sleeping is better and I hope to begin rehabbing it in another week or so. I miss running trails, but feel too nervous about the risk of falling and flailing my arms.

This morning when I woke up I looked outside and asked God what plans he had for me today, I thanked the universe that I woke up and I feel alive with energy. I keep my spiritual life simple, I ask for guidance, say thank you for all I have and try to be a decent person. I’m blogging, roasting cauliflower and steaming brown rice, and very grateful for this day working from home. Each February I host a Facebook Gratitude challenge, join me on Facebook and post what your grateful for. Gratitude is my favorite spiritual principle, it raises our vibration level and helps combat monkey mind.

gratitude-quotes-thankful-quotes-grateful-quotes-happiness-quotes

Happiness is an inside job : ) in the past I have used people, sex, shopping and food to try to create happiness, however, except for brief moments of temporary elation, nothing has worked until I found gratitude. I no longer suffer from the disease of wanting “more” .

Click below to join;
https://www.facebook.com/yogasheree/?fref=nf

 

 

With Love,

Sheree xo

 

Butternut Squash Soup

005

• 1/2 tbsp coconut oil • 1/4 of a large sweet onion
• Fresh or pre-chopped garlic and ginger (tsp of each)
• 3 cups vegetable broth
• Frozen diced butternut squash 2 to 3 cups
• Coconut milk to taste (I used canned)

1. I roughly chopped the onion because I knew I was going to blend the soup, so why waste time. First I heated the oil in a heavy bottomed pot. I then sautéed the onion until it was translucent, maybe 4 minutes on medium, being careful not to burn or brown the onion. I added a dash of ginger and a dash of garlic, the last minute of sautéing.
2. Add the vegetable broth, and frozen squash, turn heat to high and bring to a boil. Upon boiling turn heat down to a low boil and cook until squash is done.
3. Add about a 1/4 cup of coconut milk (don’t use almond milk it’s terrible in soups). Pour mixture into a blender and blend* until smooth, return blended soup to the pot and heat gently on low. You could also use an immersion blender. Be careful when blending hot soups don’t fill your blender too full. I have a Ninja blender which is similar to a Vita mix so it handles hot soups well.
I received some feedback on the idea of Brown rice bowls that I shared last week, and yes they are awesome. Steam the brown rice at the beginning of the week and you’ll have it on hand for dinners and lunches. Make some hummus (or purchase) and then just be creative with the rest.

Here are some topping ideas;
Steamed broccoli
Roasted Cauliflower (making this today)
Marinated, cooked tofu cubes
Sautéed mushrooms
Shelled edamame
Chopped peanuts
Slivered almonds
Chopped sundried tomatoes
Tamari (gluten free)
Chick peas (try roasting them)
Corn (organic corn is non GMO; I buy it frozen at Fresco)
Any kind of bean dip
Chopped cabbage or a handful of one of those precut salad mixes that are popular right now.
The idea is to be creative, use left over’s or those little bits of things that are hanging out in your fridge. I make brown rice at the beginning of the week so it’s easy.

Since the soup recipe included butternut squash. Let’s be economical and use the rest of the bag for this amazing curry recip0e I tried a few weeks ago. It’s an Oh She Glow recipe” I used a jarred curry paste I have yet to find a curry power I enjoy. This curry is very soft and mashie (is that a word É) kind of like Dahl, I would serve it on brown rice or with Naan.

Red Lentil and Squash Curry Stew
Inspired by Martha.

red lentils and squash

Yield: ~4 servings
Ingredients:
• 1 tsp Extra virgin olive oil
• 1 sweet onion, chopped
• 3 garlic cloves, minced
• 1 tbsp good quality curry powder (or more to taste)
• 1 carton broth (4 cups) I used low-sodium
• 1 cup red lentils
• 3 cups cooked butternut squash
• 1 cup greens of choice
• Fresh grated ginger, to taste (optional)
• Kosher salt & black pepper, to taste (I used about 1/2 tsp salt)

1. In a large pot, add EVOO and chopped onion and minced garlic. Sautee for about 5 minutes over low-medium heat.
2. Stir in curry powder and cook another couple minutes. Add broth and lentils and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and cook for 10 minutes.
3. Stir in cooked butternut squash and greens of choice. Cook over medium heat for about 5-8 minutes. Season with salt, pepper, and add some freshly grated ginger to taste.

Note: If you have uncooked butternut to use, check out Martha’s recipe for cooking instructions.

Read more: http://ohsheglows.com/2011/10/05/red-lentil-and-squash-curry-stew/#ixzz3z1s5RNMF

Leave a Reply

