Vegan Aussie Bites – Water for energy

Some things are so good they are dangerous around me, I just want to eat and eat them, and the Vegan Aussie Bites recipe below is is that good. A yummy combination of flavours, in good for you little bites.
I was telling people that this has been a weird week, my partner Tom had been laid off and started a new job last week working afternoons, so I am coming home to an empty house and I have gotten t into the bad habit of lying on the couch, watching a Netflix series. Every night this week I was up until after 11pm which just doesn’t work for me. I was dragging my tired butt everywhere. Sleep, water and healthy food is the keys to my high energy. Anytime I am tired I can pinpoint it to one of those things. I have promised myself that next week I will get right into bed when I come home and wind down with a book or some meditation, rather than wind up with Television. It’s rare for me to watch TV every day, the empty house is throwing me off.
Water is so very important to having great energy, the body relies on water to function optimally however, so many of us (me included) don’t drink enough. A while ago I watched a video sent to me by YouInc , the message in the video was, “ you are not tired you are dehydrated”. It was during a time when I felt really tired so I upped my water intake and much to my surprise, I felt amazing again. It continues to be a lack of discipline I have, not drinking enough water, although I am not really a coffee drinker (I have maybe 3 decafs a week). I’m active and need water. I’ve heard it said that if you mouth feels dry you are already dehydrated.
From an Ayurvedic perspective room temperature water is better for you as. Ayurvedic medicine is a system of medicine with historical roots in the India, it is considered the sister science to yoga. Room temperature or warm water helps our tissues expand and therefore digestive secretions flow easily. In the other hand, cold water causes the tissues to contract and it is then difficult to secret the needed digestive enzymes. It is also suggested that you never drink fluids while eating as it dilutes the digestive enzymes.

Here’s a link to some interesting thoughts on the importance of water. Go grab some water LOL, click on this link and read it taking small sips of water.
http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/clark2.htm

Friday night I enjoyed the annual Christmas tree lightening in downtown Brooklin, I met my step son and step daughter and 4 of my grandchildren. Tom and Margaux joined us as well, what a fun event for the kids, lots of treats and activities for them to enjoy, all free. I love the community events in Brooklin.

tree lighting96014_n

These Vegan Aussie bites are fabulous, as the author notes in the recipe notes, they crumble easily when still hot, and the first Aussie bite that I took out of the muffin tin fell apart. I solved this by placing a dinner plate over the muffin tin and flipping the muffin tin over. I just allowed the Aussie bites to cool on the dinner plate, once they have cooled they hold together fairly well, although I don’t think they would travel well unless you were careful with them. The next time I make them I am going to let the batter sit on the counter for about 30 minutes to see if giving the flax meal time to bind with the other ingredients helps the hold together better. Don’t let t his deter you though, they are great, and I took them to work a few times this week.

I found them on a blog one of my students told me about, called OhMyVeggies !! Some great recipes both vegan and vegetarian.

Ivegan_aussie_bites_3

These convenient, tasty little bites are like a cross between a granola bar and a muffin. Best of all, they take only about 10 minutes to assemble!

Ingredients

1/2 cup coconut oil
1/2 cup pure maple syrup
1 1/2 cups oat flour*
1 1/2 cups rolled oats (use gluten free oats to make this recipe gluten free).
1/2 cup unsalted roasted sunflower seeds
1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
1/3 cup flaxseed meal
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 cup raisins
1/2 cup dried apricots

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 350ºF. Spray the cups of a mini-muffin pan with non-stick spray or rub with a little coconut oil**.
Heat the coconut oil and maple syrup in a small saucepan over medium-low heat, stirring occasionally, until coconut oil has melted. Set aside.
To the bowl of an 8-cup or larger food processor, add oat flour, oats, and sunflower seeds. Pulse a couple of times until the seeds and oats begin to break up. Add the coconut, flaxseed meal, baking powder, and salt. Pulse to mix.
Add the raisins and dried apricots and pulse until the apricots are approximately the size of peas.
Pour the melted coconut oil and maple syrup over the dry ingredients, then pulse just until combined. Transfer to a large bowl and stir well to make sure all ingredients are well-combined. If any of the apricots and raisins stick together in clumps, use your fingers to separate and distribute them throughout the mix.
Scoop by the heaping tablespoonful into the cups of the mini muffin pan (I use a cookie scoop). With your fingers, press each gently but firmly to pack and flatten.
Bake for about 12 minutes until set and edges are golden.
Remove from oven, allowing to cool for about 10 minutes. Use a butter knife to help pop each bite out of its respective tin; carefully remove from tin and place on a wire rack until completely cool and set. They may be fragile until completely cooled.
Keep at room temperature in an airtight container for up to 3-4 days, or freeze in a zipper bag.
Notes

* To make oat flour using rolled oats, just pulverize approximately 2 cups of oats in a food processor until it reaches the consistency of flour, and then measure 1 1/2 cups of the flour for the recipe. ** This recipe yields about 48, and I only have a 24-cup mini-muffin pan, so I bake in two separate batches with no issues.

I have also made this recipe using a 4-cup mini food processor instead of a large food processor. I just pulse the items that need chopping or pulverizing as I go, mixing ingredients together in one large bowl.

This recipe  and picture comes from a blog one of my students told me about, called ohmyveggies. You can click on the link below to access this fabulous blog.
Read more at http://ohmyveggies.com/vegan-aussie-bites/#wOFG4pAdU3uE6MdM.99

2 thoughts on “Vegan Aussie Bites – Water for energy

Leave a Reply

