Red Lentil and Kale Soup – Some tips on finding silence in your busy life

I’m a fall person, the cooler weather invigorates me, and this fall has been busy with family, work and social commitments. I have still made time for me. I’ve done yoga in the morning 4 to 5 times a week, ran in Heberdown Conservation Area and recently started training for a spring Kettlebell competition. Being busy is great and can feel empowering for awhile, but soon I become tired and a little cranky if I don’t take time for the things I love. I need time alone, no people. This can be a walk or a slow run, or some morning yoga but without quiet time I lose my sense of being connected. I love to run with my dog Muggins, her loving energy is amazing and we both enjoy running.

today's run4_n
I often talk about taking the time to be quiet and alone, and the most common response I receive is I am too busy; this false sense of not having enough time is just that not true. I think what many people think is that they need a certain amount of time to do yoga, or meditate etc… While this is great, I know from my personal experience that you can get huge benefits from cumatlive time in quiet. Trust me, grabbing moments in your day, will go a long way. So when if you are dreaming of that yoga retreat or weekly meditation class and chaos is preventing you from getting started,  here are a few tips from my Pocket Guide to finding Incredible Silence in your Everyday life. Namaste!!

• Get up 15 minutes earlier, just 15 minutes of meditation, prayer or reading from an inspiring book can set your day.

• Turn your radio off on the drive into work, the news will be there later, instead focus on being present by doing breathing exercises, or take the Go Train and read a great book.

• Eat alone one or two lunches a week, focus on eating, the foods, colours and the flavours.

• Take a 20 minute walk at lunch time, bundle up if it’s cold and enjoy the time.

• Go to bed 15 minutes earlier and review your day, pray and meditate.

trails where are th erunners_n

If you are interested in more tips, email me and I will send you my Pocket Guide.

sheree@livewithspirit.ca

The following recipe is from the Oh She Glows blog, i love her receips, they seldom fail. Here’s a great fall suggestion, make this early in the morning, leave it on the stove, go for a fall hike in one of our great local trails then come home and enjoy a hearty warm soup.

Spiced Red Lentil, Tomato, and Kale Soup

red lentil and kale soup

Yield: 5.5- 6 cups
Ingredients:

1 tsp coconut oil (or other oil)
2 large garlic cloves, minced
1 sweet onion, diced
3 celery stalks, diced
1 bay leaf
1 & 1/4 tsp ground cumin
2 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp ground coriander
1/4-1/2 tsp smoked sweet paprika, to taste
1/8th tsp cayenne pepper, or to taste
14-oz can diced tomatoes
5-6 cups vegetable broth, more if desired
1 cup red lentils, rinsed and drained
fine grain sea salt and pepper, to taste
2 handfuls torn kale leaves or spinach

1. In a large pot, sauté the onion and garlic in oil for about 5-6 minutes over medium heat. Add in the celery and sauté for a few minutes more.
2. Stir in the bay leaf and the spices (cumin, chili powder, coriander, paprika, cayenne). You can add half the spices and add more later if you prefer.
3. Stir in the can of tomatoes (including juice), broth, and lentils. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and then simmer, uncovered, for about 20-25 minutes, until lentils are tender and fluffy.
4. Stir in kale or spinach and season to taste adding more spices if you wish.

Read more: http://ohsheglows.com/2012/11/07/spiced-red-lentil-tomato-and-kale-soup/#ixzz3QbcUNFw7

Leave a Reply

