Some of the best recipes I have made. Easy Salads with fantastic flavours.

Last week was one of those weeks where I had a hard time concentrating. It was one of those weeks where I would walk into a room and forget what I had gone into the room for, over and over again. It made me laugh so hard at myself. Even this morning I am a bit like that, just 10 minutes ago I opened Facebook up about 4 times to message someone about run club and then kept forgetting why I was on Facebook.

bruce lee
I was telling students that one morning last week I was making vegan chili, writing my blog and then decided to clean the bathtub. Which is totally how I was when I was younger but these days I don’t’ suffer as much from the crazy multi tasking thing. I often share with my students that I could be a little short-tempered when I was younger, not angry, with yelling and screaming, just quick to bark out a directions. I was this way because of stress, plain and simple, managing kids, being a wife, work, life meant I always seemed a little bit behind. I often say I suffered from the disease of one more thing, I’ll just answer one more email or throw in one more load of laundry, doing this seems effective but it meant I was running behind for everything and then god help me if there was heavy traffic or an unforeseen slow down.

graham bell
Over the years my life has become less stressful, in part, because the kids have moved out, but also because I have made a conscious effort to single task, to place my focus on one thing at a time and then once complete, move on to the next thing. In yoga we have a word called Dharana. This principle describes concentration, typically in meditation or yoga but it also can be brought into our lives by slowing down and concentrating on the task at hand, so not driving and texting and talking and blaring music all at once. Just driving, or just cooking, or just listening. Multitasking feels great as it can be a high, but in the end it tends to lead towards burnout, expectations that others be the same and from short-tempered syndrome. The truth is kids take longer that we do to put on their shoes, their dexterity is still developing.

http://www.yogajournal.com/article/beginners/the-eight-limbs/

I made some fabulous food last week, with great flavour combinations that I am excited to share with you.
The first recipe, Mango & Avocado Black Rice Salad with Cilantro-Lime Vinaigrette, is amazing, I love mango and almost every bite had a little bit of mango in it. It’s from the website http://www.ambitiouskitchen.com/ I borrowed an image from her page as I didn’t use black rice. I didn’t have any on hand and also thought it would be expensive, I’m tired of paying too much for different products so decided to use organic quinoa that I buy at Costco for a great price. It worked great; it wasn’t as pretty as the picture because the black rice is great to look at, but it was fantastic none the less.
The second recipe Crunchy Asian Slaw, was equally as good, it made a ton and I ate it all week. I loved the cashews in it. I actually just used a bag of precut cabbage as my kitchen area is small and cluttered and shredding cabbage can be messy. It worked perfectly!!!
If it interests you I pin recipes to Pinterest all the time, if a recipe is vegan, simple, wholesome and looks interesting, I’ll pin it for later. You can follow me on Pinterest to stay up to date.

https://www.pinterest.com/Ilivewithspirit/

As always, be amazing today !!!!

With Love,

Sheree xo

Mango & Avocado Black Rice Salad with Cilantro-Lime Vinaigrette

A fresh and flavorful, nutrient packed black rice salad with mango and avocado. Served with the most incredible cilantro-lime vinaigrette. Vegan and gluten free!

mango black rice

INGREDIENTS
1 1/2 cups organic black rice (can substitute brown rice, quinoa, or another grain)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 large ripe mango, diced
1 small ripe avocado, diced or sliced
1/4 cup roasted almonds
1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
1/2 cup diced red onion
For the Vinaigrette:
1/4 cup freshly squeezed lime juice (about 3 limes)
1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon honey (agave nectar if vegan)
1/4 teaspoon Kosher salt
1 clove garlic, minced
2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro
salt and pepper to taste
lime wedges, to garnish

INSTRUCTIONS

Rinse rice in mesh strainer. Add to medium saucepan. Add 2 3/4 cups water and a pinch of salt; bring to a boil. Cover, reduce to a low simmer, and cook until rice is tender and water is absorbed about 30-40 minutes. When rice is done cooking, remove from heat and transfer to a bowl. Cool for 10 minutes before adding dressing.
While rice is cooking prepare the dressing: Combine lime juice, olive oil, garlic, honey (or agave), cilantro, and salt in a food processor. Process for 15-30 seconds or until dressing is combined. Once rice is done cooking and has cooled a bit, stir in dressing and . Cover bowl and place in fridge for an hour or until cool and you are ready to add in the rest of the salad ingredients.
Before serving, toss salad again with dressing and fold in cilantro, mango, and red onion. Pour into cold salad bowls and top with roasted almonds and avocado. Garnish with a lime wedge or extra cilantro if desired. Enjoy!

Crunchy Asian Slaw

Lots of texture and beautiful colors make this delicious asian slaw salad a feast for your eyes AND your taste buds!

CrunchyAsianSlaw__1428038291_46545-e1428038361505

Ingredients
Salad
• 4 cups (packed) chopped Napa cabbage (See Cooking Tip)
• 1-1/2 cups grated or finely sliced red cabbage
• 1-1/2 cups grated carrots
• 1 cup finely diced red bell pepper
• 1 cup julienned snow peas or sugar snap peas
• ½ cup chopped green onions
• ½ cup chopped peanuts, almonds or cashews
• ¼ cup chopped fresh cilantro
Dressing
• ¼ cup hoisin sauce
• 2 tbsp sunflower or peanut oil
• 2 tbsp dark sesame oil
• 2 tbsp freshly squeezed lime juice
• 2 tbsp rice vinegar
• 1 tbsp grated fresh gingerroot
• 1 tsp minced garlic
• Pinch crushed red pepper flakes (or a few drops hot sauce)
• Salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

Directions
Combine all salad ingredients in a large bowl and mix well.
Whisk together all dressing ingredients in a small bowl or measuring cup. Pour over salad. Mix well using tongs. Make sure salad is evenly coated with dressing. You can serve it immediately or cover and refrigerate until serving time. (Give the salad a good toss before serving if it’s been sitting in the fridge.)
Makes 8 side-dish servings
Per serving: 142 calories, 10 g total fat (1.4 g saturated fat), 3 g protein, 11 g carbohydrate, 3 g fiber, 0 mg cholesterol, 155 mg sodium

Leave a Reply

