My fave smoothie recipes, thoughts on Gratitude and Pics from my hike xo

Smoothies get good and bad press; some tout then as healthy meal alternatives, others bash them as full of sugar and bad for you. They are a great way to eat your greens if you are not fond of kale, spinach etc…as you can bury these good for you greens (full of micronutrients) in smoothies.

I like smoothies once in a while; I love them made with frozen fruits so they have a cold creamy texture, kind of like milkshakes (which I don’t drink). Smoothies can be a meal replacement if you are on the go, however I like to chew real food, sitting down, so use smoothies only on those days you are running behind.

No matter what you are eating being grateful for the meal, being mindful of the blessings of having food in your belly will go a long way to creating happiness in your life. Last week I read an article on a Vegan Body Builder, in that article it mentioned that he told his kids that every day in America someone is going without food or eating out of a dumpster. Gratitude is one of the most important spiritual concepts to develop, without it you will never be happy you will always be looking for the next thing, the bigger house, the better car, the list is endless. It’s ok to have things but they should serve you not vice versa. The other day I overheard Tom say that I was the most grateful person he knew, it was interesting to hear him describe me this way. I think the last few years have really changed me, while I have generally been a happy person for a long time, I think the loss of my husband catapulted me into a new dimension, when you lose so much, you really get that life is lived one day at a time. I however find Tom extremely grateful, every day he gets up at 4am and drives to down town Toronto, where he does a very physical job in sometimes extreme heat or cold. He never complains but instead constantly mentions how grateful he is for work and his paycheque.

I used to waste things, food, money, and other stuff. Now I am careful; for example when fresh fruit is starting to become overripe, I chop it up and freeze it for smoothies. I remember my grandmother being like this. If an orange was going bad she would make marmalade out of it. Like most people who lived through the depression she is careful with her money and food. When bananas are getting overripe, peel them and freeze them for smoothies and banana “ice cream”. My freezer has lots of little packages of chopped up kale, raspberries and more, that someday will end up in a smoothie or some vegan dish. Maybe that old adage “waste not want not” is finally sinking into my consciousness.

Not feeling grateful today ? Sit quietly and write out 7 things that you are grateful for, do this until being grateful is a natural state for you.

If the link below works, you can access my pocket guide tittle 50 days of Gratitude

booklet 5 gratitude

What I love about these recipes is that they are simple, no powders or special shakes, just easy to find ingredients that won’t cost you and arm and a leg and that you don’t have to order on auto ship. Keeping life simple is another way to find happiness.

I think a couple of these might be from Oh-She-Glows, the Pineapple Smoothie is from my friend Charmaine Anderson.

Creamsicle Smoothie

 1 Frozen Banana

1 chopped orange

3 tbsp hemp seeds

5 raw (unsalted) almonds

¾ cup water (or skip the 5 raw almonds and replace the water with ¾ almond milk)

Pinch of cinnamon

Dash of almond extract.

Place all the ingredients in a high speed blender and blend until creamy.

Pineapple smoothie

2 cups pineapple
I cube of frozen spinach (Europe’s best)
1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk.

Place all the ingredients in a high speed blender and blend until creamy.

  

Pina Colada Smoothie

1 packed cup organic kale, chopped
1 cup frozen pineapple
1 cup coconut water
1 cup unsweetened almond milk (or additional coconut water)
1 scoop vanilla protein powder
1 cup ice cubes
2 tbsp shredded coconut
* Optional: for thickness can add small piece of avocado or frozen banana)
* Optional: 1 tbsp coconut oil

Place all the ingredients in a high speed blender and blend until creamy.

 

 

Classic Green Monster Smoothie

green-smoothie1

1 cup almond milk or other non-dairy milk

1 cup de-stemmed kale leaves or baby spinach

1 large ripe frozen banana, chopped into chunks

1 tablespoon almond butter or peanut butter

1 tablespoon chia seeds or ground flaxseed

Pinch of ground cinnamon

2 to 3 ice cubes

Directions:

Add all ingredients into a high-speed blender and blend until smooth.

Read more: http://ohsheglows.com/2011/01/13/classic-green-monster/#ixzz3iVt3LBVa

On the August long weekend Tom and I went to visit his father, while we were there Tom took me hiking to a spot he had enjoyed as a child. It  had changed somewhat as the dam was gone. We enjoyed climbing a small waterfall and just being together sharing his past memories and creating new ones of our own. I can’t help but feel extremley grateful that I was able to share those moments with him. Here are some pictures from that hike. You should know that Tom does “the pose” only to make me smile LOL.

20150801_19144620150801_19142520150801_19252220150801_191029



Leave a Reply

