Vegan , Mexican, Spicy, Easy….2 Great Recipes

LIke most business I have busy and slow seasons, and right now I am really busy.  Every weekend is booked until the second weekend in July. I have moved both personally and professionally. I had 2 public speaking events last week, and I have been working full-time through it all.  So last week bought hummus, which to me is a sin, because it’s so easy to make and I really prefer making my own hummus.  I gobbled down the store bought hummus with bags of quinoa chips, which to some may sound healthy, but it left me feeling tired and my runs were low energy. As soon as I switched back to whole foods, my energy came back and I felt light and free.

So tonight I made some hummus, a great lime and jalapeño recipe, and last night I made a Mexican Quinoa dish that seriously must have cost about $5.00 to make and is delicious. Both are spicy and have one of my favourite flavour combinations in them; lime juice and cilantro.  One of the things I love about the Mexican Quinoa dish is that it’s a one pot dish, so there is no mess, no food processor to clean, this made clean up super easy.

I feel back better too knowing I have homemade food in my fridge. Tomorrow I am making a new salad dressing recipe that I hope to share with you next week.

I ran a 25k trail race a few weeks ago and it was a fantastic experience.  The weather was perfect, my running companion is a friend I love, and the event was well organized. I exceeded my expectations and came away remembering why I love races, they seem to come at a time in your life when you need the discipline of training and the time with the running community. The running community is a vast group of runners who are supportive, positive and inspirational. Here’s a pic of Sheri and I heading to our race, a road trip selfie.

road tripn

I love that my friend Al Storie, Manager of the Whitby Running Room, completed his first 100 miler, he has been an inspiration to many. It was his 3rd attempt at the 100 mile distance. It is quite common to not complete a 100miler, as you can imagine running 100 miles is no easy feat. So last week I dropped into the Whitby Running Room today to say hi and to congratulate him. For those of you who don’t know much about trail racing there is a special belt buckle to be earned after completing a 100 miler. Here is a picture of Al’s belt buckle.

belt b79_n

Al is in his 60’s now and as you can see is aging fantastically, slim, fit and very happy.

Al Storie5_n

And finally one of the highlights of the last 2 weeks was watching our Learn to Run group complete their first 5k race, it was thrilling to see their 10 weeks of training come to completion with a great race. One of my expressions is to “do it with joy” and this group was truly inspiring, they had great attitudes and were a pleasure to coach.

learn to run

This recipe is yummy, it was my first time blackening Jalepeno’s and it was easy. I chopped them and threw them into the hummus after blending the first time and blended a second time. I thought that strips of jalepeno’s might be too much. The result was divine, I cut up English cucumber and used the slices to dip scoop up the humus the resulting coolness of the cucumbers and spiciness of the hummus was great.

  Roasted Jalapeño and Lime Hummus

lime hummus

Makes about 2 cups

1-3 (or more!) jalapeños
2 cups cooked chickpeas or 1 15-ounce can chickpeas
3-4 tablespoons lime juice
2 cloves garlic, roughly chopped
2 tablespoons tahini (or substitute extra-virgin olive oil)
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon coriander
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 tablespoons minced cilantro (optional)
Pita wedges or tortilla chips for serving

Roast the jalapeños under the broiler, on the stove top, or on the grill. Flip every few minutes until the peppers are charred all over. Move them to a heat-proof bowl and cover with plastic wrap for about 10 minutes.

When the peppers are cool enough to handle, slip off the skin, split the peppers, and strip out the seeds. Slice the jalapeños into thin strips and set aside. Take care while working with these peppers because the jalapeño oils can really burn if you rub your eyes or touch your mouth. Wear gloves if desired.

Warm the chickpeas in the microwave for about a minute (this helps make the hummus creamier). Pour them into the bowl of a food processor along with 3 tablespoons of lime juice, garlic, tahini, and spices. Begin processing and stream in the olive oil through the top of the machine. Scrape down and process again until the hummus is very smooth.

Transfer to a serving bowl and stir in the sliced jalapeños. Taste and add more jalapeños, more lime juice, or more seasonings to taste. Cover and refrigerate for at least 20 minutes before serving. (This hummus can also be made several days ahead.)

Garnish with minced cilantro and serve with pita wedges or tortilla chips.

ONE PAN MEXICAN QUINOA

mexican

Prep Time; 10 minutes – Cook Time; 25 minutes – Total Time; 35 minutes – Yield;4 servings

Wonderfully light, healthy and nutritious. And it’s so easy to make – even the quinoa is cooked right in the pan!

INGREDIENTS

1 tablespoon olive oil

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 jalapenos, minced

1 cup quinoa

1 cup vegetable broth

1 (15-ounce) can black beans, drained and rinsed

1 (14.5 oz) can fire-roasted diced tomatoes

1 cup corn kernels

1 teaspoon chili powder

1/2 teaspoon cumin

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

1 avocado, halved, seeded, peeled and diced

Juice of 1 lime

2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro leaves

INSTRUCTIONS

Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium high heat. Add garlic and jalapeno, and cook, stirring frequently, until fragrant, about 1 minute.

Stir in quinoa, vegetable broth, beans, tomatoes, corn, chili powder and cumin; season with salt and pepper, to taste. Bring to a boil; cover, reduce heat and simmer until quinoa is cooked through, about 20 minutes. Stir in avocado, lime juice and cilantro.

Serve immediately.

Adapted from Cook Like a Champion

Leave a Reply

