The staples of a plant based kitchen

Health-Quotes_90

Many people think that going plant based in your eating means that you will spend more money, this is not true, if you switch to organics you will spend more money but being plant based is actually less expensive than eating meat, switching to a whole food diet is also less expensive. For the cost of a can of black beans, a few spices, a ¼ cup of flour and a small onion, I can prepare and freeze 6 to 8 black bean burgers. Compare that to the cost of ground beef and you will find that plant based is more cost-effective as long as you avoid the processed expensive foods. Meat is expensive, the occasional time I purchase meat for my  family I am always taken back by the price.

I buy the stapes in bulk, things such as brown rice, quinoa, and legumes, I then buy a combination of organic and non organic foods. I try to buy organic from the  “dirty dozen” list. Here is a link to the list of the dirty dozen and the clean 15 http://www.davidsuzuki.org/what-you-can-do/queen-of-green/faqs/food/what-are-the-dirty-dozen-and-the-clean-fifteen/

I also buy frozen organic vegetables sometimes because if I am just cooking for one I like the convenience of them, and the lack of waste.

I also avoid expensive or hard to find ingredients, I like to keep my eating simple, whole foods, fruits and veggies, nuts, seeds and legumes. I look for great recipes that have every day ingredients in them that I will use again and again.

I find if I keep these staples in my kitchen I can make a wide variety of whole plant based foods that are delicious, cost effective and so healthy. Health is wealth.

As I move towards my mid fifties, I am forever grateful for the day I made the decision to be plant based, I know beyond doubt that my high energy, stamina and incredible level of fitness is due to my diet. Over the years I made decisions to quit smoking, drinking, gave up sugar and coffee and while all these were great decisions, becoming plant based was the final block in my lifestyle, the final path to energy.

Here’s a list of my staples;

 

Grains

Brown Rice (Costco carries a great brand)

Quinoa (Costco carries a great brand, that is way cheaper and also organic)

Barley

Canned Goods

Beans (black, red, kidney, white)

Canned Diced Tomatoes (Costco carries a great organic brand, that is inexpensive).

Milk

Almond milk (unsweetened) ( I buy this in bulk at Costco)

Coconut milk (unsweetened)

 

Sauces/spreads/vinegar/oils

Tamari

Tahini (sesame paste for making humus)

Coconut oil (I use coconut oil in my hair every day and love it)

Sesame oil (great for oriental stir-fry’s)

Balsamic Vinegar/cider vinegar

Avocados

Nutritional yeast

Oatmeal

Fruits and Veggies

Frozen fruit (berries, pineapple and mango)

Frozen Broccoli, chopped onions and peppers (these are great for chilli’s and stir-fry’s, I buy them at our local Fresco)

Bananas

Apples

Leafy greens (kale, spinach, assorted mixed lettuce)

Sweet Potatoes

Avocados

Limes/lemons (or juice)

Dates (dried)

 

Seeds and nuts

Natural almonds, natural cashews

Hemp seeds

Chia Seeds

Flax Seeds

Natural Peanut Butter (no sugar or vegetable oils)

Almond butter

Breads and Pastas

Ezekiel Bread/English muffins

GoGo Pasta

Spices and Seasonings

Cilantro, cumin, chilli powder, coriander

Garlic/Ginger

Dijon Mustard

Miscellaneous

Vega One (a meal replacement powder that I mix with frozen fruit and almond milk for a great protein shake that is also packed with great stuff)

Organic Extra Firm tofu ( I cut it into small blocks and freeze)

Organic Oven roasted Roma Tomatoes ( buy at Costco they are amazing and add flavour to burgers, chilli’s and more.)

socrates

Leave a Reply

