Fueling your life

The past week was amazeballs for quite a few reasons, one is that I felt great, my energy was high and even though I had a very busy week I felt strong, clear headed and vital. I love feeling that way and most of the time it’s my choice. If I hydrate well, sleep 7 to 8 hours and eat whole foods it pays off with amazing energy and clarity.

I love posting recipes because I burst with the high I get from my lifestyle and I want to share it with people. For years I struggled with low energy, I felt like I had been born tired, but today have found that I can create energy in my body by eating well.

Friday I had the opportunity to teach plant based nutrition course to the Educational Assistants in Durham Region, they were a great bunch who asked a lot of questions, shared information and most were keen on learning about healthier eating habits. It’s interesting that they see this as eating more plant based foods, even though most of them ate meat and hadn’t considered giving it up. There is a definite trend towards plant based eating.

One of the topics we discussed on Friday was food as fuel rather than food as a treat or as a reward. I shared with the group that changing my thinking around food was a huge breakthrough for me. I no longer think of food as a treat, but as an energy exchange. Good energy in equals good energy out. For example,  last Friday I was tired from a very busy week, and I had to teach 2 workshops that afternoon. I began fueling for my day by eating light with high amounts of raw food , this allowed me good energy to lecture in a workshop. Digestion takes about 50% of your energy, so eating heavy food would have left me feeling tired  and struggling to keep up with my day.

I guess I am lucky I love to cook, it centers me, I feel like I deserve fresh cooked meals.

thailand_n

I love Pad Thai, while I was in Thailand 4 years ago I enjoyed great food and Pad Thai was one of my favorites. Most Pad Thai’s have fish sauce in them so I was happy to find this plant based version. Enjoy !!!! While in Thailand I switched to a plant based diet and found that when I returned I no longer desired meat, coffee or sugary foods. What a turnaround trip that was.

Easy Vegetable Pad Thai Recipe
serves 2-3
Ingredients
for the sauce
3-4 tablespoons light brown sugar
3 tablespoons fresh lime juice (about 2-3 limes)
4 tablespoons soy sauce
1/4 cup water
for the noodles
8 oz wide Pad Thai rice noodles, also called Banh Pho
2 tablespoons vegetable or peanut oil
crushed red pepper, as much as you like
4-6 cloves of garlic, minced
2 cups of broccoli florets
2 medium carrots, peeled and chopped into rounds
1 heaping cup of cubed fried tofu, available at Asian stores
a big hand full of bean sprouts
2 green onions, chopped
3 tablespoons roasted, chopped peanuts
3-4 cilantro sprigs, chopped
1/2 lime, cut into wedges
Method
1. Place all the sauce ingredients in a non stick sauce pan. Bring to a boil. Then reduce heat and simmer on low for about 2 minutes, or till the sauce has thickened just a little. Turn off heat and set aside.
2. Soak and drain the noodles according to package instructions. If the package does’nt have instructions, soak the noodles in warm water for about 15 minutes or till they become pliable. Then drain.
3. Heat the oil in a large wok. Add the crushed red pepper. As soon as they sizzle, add the garlic, broccoli and carrots. Toss on medium-high heat till the broccoli turns bright green and the garlic is fragrant, about 2 minutes.
4. Add the soaked noodles, tofu and the sauce. Toss on medium-high heat till everything is well combine and the noodles are cooked, but still a little chewy, and not mushy.
5. Turn off heat, and add the bean sprouts, and green onions and mix well.
6. Garnish with cilantro and peanuts. Serve with lime wedges on the side.

Leave a Reply

