Raw Energy…zoom zoom plus some thought on compassion : )

Today is a quiet morning as the snowstorm caused havoc around town and a few of my clients cancelled due to emergencies. So it’s given me time to start my day in quiet reflection. I am recovering from a cold, my first cold in several years. I’ve been too tired to do much and haven’t been outdoors running for a week tomorrow. It’s rare for me to get sick and truthfully I don’t really like it, but decided that self care and compassion towards myself, meant I was going to slow down and accept not feeling well. I can be a really driven person and sometimes my mind tells me to just push through how I am really feeling. But this time I decided no, I was going to rest and just be sick, getting away from the need to always be doing is not easy for me. It’s something I‘ve been working on lately. I’ve been trying to find balance between my work/own goals and my personal life. After my husband passed last spring I withdrew from people, but now am finding that going out to movies, dinners and just getting out with friends is what I need.

I am excited that Thursday I am reading something I wrote at a spoken word event held by NEDIC (see flyer) as many of you know my passion is helping women see how truly beautiful they are, as they are. For me fitness is about feeling great, not losing weight, being fit helps me to be strong and have great energy to live my life to its fullest.

Spoken word event

I cooked quite a bit this week; I made tomato soup, dips, pasta with black bean sauce and more. The recipe I am sharing this week is from my friend Tara D’Oliver; she has a passion for whole foods and just started a blog. That you can follow for great recipes and suggestions on compassionate living. Find her on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Tara-DOliveira-Culinary-Nutrition/302612833281941

Often we think of compassion as something we give to others, perhaps an ailing friend or struggling child, but self compassion is so important too. How can you be more compassionate to yourself?

Can you: Sleep more ? Let go of perfectionism? Put your feet up at the end of the day and drink a great tea? Read a book? Go for a silent walk breathing in prana (life force energy)? Be compassionate to yourself this week and see the difference it makes in your life.

And finally last February I started  a gratitude challenge it went over really well, it’s the coldest month of the year and so many of us feel down, due to lack of sunshine and out door activities. Join me on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/yogasheree post on my page or on your facebook page (be sure to tag me in it me in it so I can read it).

“Let gratitude be the pillow upon which you kneel to say your nightly prayer. And let faith be the bridge you build to overcome evil and welcome good.”

― Maya Angelou, Celebrations: Rituals of Peace and Prayer

I loved this recipes, for some reason I have tons of sunflower seeds in my cupboards and this recipe came in handy. I cut up and apple and sprinkled this on it and also used it on fruit salad and oatmeal. Love love love it. Easy to make and delicious.

 Tara’s Cacao Energy *Nutfree Version

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/4 cup pepitas (green pumpkin seeds)
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds
  • 2 tbsp shredded coconut
  • 1 tbsp raw cacao powder
  • 2 Medjool dates
  • 1 tsp coconut oil

DIRECTION:

Combine all ingredients into a food processor and process until evenly combined.  You decide on texture 🙂 Add to cut up apple and avocado.

Published by Sheree Nicholson (Yoga Sheree).

Plant-Based, Yoga & Fitness Studio Owner, Owner of The Brooklin Run Club. Owner of The Live With Spirit Yoga & Fitness Studio Lead Teacher Yoga Teacher Training RYT 200 & 500 Certificate in Plant-Based Nutrition from eCornell Bachelor of Metaphysics from UOS Currently working towards my Masters of Metaphysics Living life simply with my man and enjoying time with my family.

One thought on “Raw Energy…zoom zoom plus some thought on compassion : )

Leave a comment