Chocolate and Yummy – oh and healthy too

Like a lot of people I have been a little tired  since Christmas, I think the time off  combined with some the late nights  have made it hard to get back to full-time hours. I’m loving the sunshine  this week and I have had some nice runs .

 I restart my swim training tonight at 9pm so I started thinking about dinner, and wondering what I could eat that would fuel my swim and not make me feel even more tired. Digestion takes about 50% of our energy, which is a lot, and if you are already tired it’s 50% of less energy. A lot of people will skip workouts when they are tired, but I won’t , I will go and give 100% of what I have,  skipping workouts leads to a slippery slope of giving up. So I try to  eat  raw foods that require minimal digestion and food that will fuel me for a workout. Tonight I opted for an easily digestible smoothie for dinner.

I tried making a chocolate smoothie today from a recipe that was posted on Facebook and it was a huge “fail”, watery and very bland. But I had a  hankering for chocolate so I googled vegan/chocolate/smoothies and found this amazing recipe on the Oh-She-Glows blog.

I just had to share this recipe because its fantastic,  its  thick, creamy and great tasting.  I love using frozen banana’s they give smoothies a rich creamy texture similar to milkshakes.  This smoothie was filling but I found myself needing more about and hour later so opted for a big green salad with a homemade hummus dressing which I made in about 5 mins in my blender.

I’m loving hemp seeds right now I’m adding them to smoothies, oatmeal and sprinkling them on my salads. They are a real super food, here are some of the benefits;

  1. Excellent source of essential fatty acids including Omega 3, 6 and GLA in the perfect balance.
  2. More digestible protein than meat, whole eggs, cheese, human milk, cows milk or any other high protein food.
  3. Rich in Vitamin E.
  4. Increases energy levels & metabolic rate.

Creamy Chocolate Hemp Smoothie for Two

(I would suggest chopping the dates before adding them as they didn’t blend well)

 

Vegan, gluten-free, grain-free, no bake/raw, oil-free, refined sugar-free, soy-free

Yield

3 1/2 cups (2 servings)Prep Time

Ingredients:

2 cups almond milk

2-3 pitted large Medjool dates, to taste (I use 2)

3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder

3 tablespoons hulled hemp seed

1 large peeled and frozen banana

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

4 large ice cubes

Directions:

 

Add all ingredients into a high-speed blender and blend until super smooth.

Tip: 1) This recipe yields a fairly thin consistency. If you want a thicker shake-like texture, try reducing the milk to 1.5 cups instead of 2 cups or go wild and add a scoop of your favorite non-dairy ice cream. 2) If your dates are a bit firm or dry, soak them in water for 30-60 minutes before making this smoothie. You can also swap the dates for liquid sweetener if desired. Just reduce the almond milk a bit so it’s not too thin.

Read more: http://ohsheglows.com/2014/07/03/creamy-chocolate-hemp-smoothie-for-two/#ixzz3OvqieSQ1

Leave a Reply

