An Energizing Green Smoothie

The other day I went to the fridge and peeked in,  I had left over kale, some frozen mango and I was out of my usual protein powder (VegaOne) and I wanted a shake/smoothie as it was later in the evening and I didn’t want to eat something heavy but I needed nourishment. So I “googled” kale/mango/smoothie/vegan and found this yummy recipe. it was super refreshing and very light. Here’s the link to the blog I found it on paleo grubs http://paleogrubs.com/

 After yoga last week we were talking about getting back on track with our eating .  So many of the foods we eat at Christmas have the addictive qualities, the 3 main addictive foods being ones that contain sugar, fat and salt. Once I start eating them I don’t want to stop. I have learned to hate the heaving feeling of overeating and don’t really indulge too much in these kinds of foods, but find if I do, the best way is to go cold turkey, throw out the crappy food, fight any  cravings for a few days and then I’m good. I know a lot of people preach moderation but I am not a moderate person, so eating 10 potato chips and feeling satisfied does not work for me, if it works for you that’s amazing, be moderate then. But, if you have tried for years to be moderate in all things and still find that you get out of control with some foods, maybe it’s time to accept the fact that you need to just give them up. Like smoking for example, some people can smoke a cigarette here and there if they are socializing, I on the other hand either smoke a pack of cigarettes a day or do not smoke. there is no controlling smoking for me (I quit smoking 17 years ago, this week). True freedom comes from knowing who you are, not from overlooking your traits.

 Over the years I have paid attention to the foods I eat and now eat to sustain and energize me. I love the pure energy whole foods give me.

It was an amazing weekend teaching a course to yoga teachers in training. Late afternoon on Sunday we took a break and did some cool partner yoga poses. Chris is a 200lb man and had never attempted this pose before but I was easily able to support him, thanks to his strong core .

 

Here’s Chris and I learning to fly.

 Chris and I_n


Green Kale Smoothie With Mango

green-smoothie1

Ingredients

  • 2 large leaves of kale
  • 2 frozen bananas (peeled and cut into thirds)
  • 1 frozen mango (diced)
  • 2 tablespoons maca powder ( I skipped this)
  • 2 tablespoons hemp hearts
  • 3 cups unsweetened almond milk ( I used water with 10 to 12 almonds)
  • This recipe makes two large smoothies, can be halved for one serving.

Directions

Add frozen banana chunks and frozen mango chunks into a blender with the almond milk. Blend until smooth. (I freeze my fruit in chunks to make it easier on the blender)

Add in kale, maca powder, and hemp hearts. Blend until smooth.

Serve immediately and enjoy!!

Nutrition Facts (Per Smoothie)

  • Calories: 294
  • Fat: 9.0g
  • Saturated fat: 0.7g
  • Sodium: 274mg
  • Carbs: 51.0g
  • Fiber: 8.6g
  • Protein: 7.7g
Leave a Reply

