African Peanut Stew.

I had another great weekend, it was filled with time spent new and old friends, I taught a  Power Yoga sequencing workshop to a group of yoga teacher trainees and ended the weekend with some me time, just hanging out reading cook books and watching a movie. I was having a hard time feeling the Christmas spirit this year, I think because its going to be my first Christmas without Frank, but planning the Christmas menu, helped. I’m excited to be hosting my family dinner this year and will be joined by my siblings, my parents and their spouses and some friends.

The following recipe I didn’t actually make, but I enjoyed it Saturday night at my friend Sheri’s house. Sheri is my running wife/partner, we generally run Sunday mornings and have a great time. Sheri is funny, smart and super focussed, we share some lofty running goals for next year (2015) . Our goals include another 26k trail race and a 50k trail race in October. Somewhere between those goals I have 2 triathlon and a Kettlebell competition, it’s going to be a strong focused 2015. I love being super fit and the best part about my goals is I am sharing them with people I enjoy. This year I will invest more time in cycling and plan to cycle to some of my trail runs and cycle to a few of my private teaching sessions. This will allow me to be more comfortable on a bike, as last year I only cycled twice before my triathalon, so struggled a bit with the gears. I continue to take swimming lessons Thursday nights so hope to be strong in the water next year.

Here’s a great pictures of some of my running friends.

This recipe is alsos from the Oh She Glows cookbook, it’s just a great book and if you are new to the plant-based lifestyle I highly recommend it.

We ended our meal with  Raw Ginger Balls and some apple slices sprinkled with cinnamon. What a great meal and one that didn’t leave you feeling heavy, tired or overburdened as your body digested it. I have come to detest that heavy feeling of being too full, I eat only until I am satisfied and it makes a huge difference in my energy levels. If you want the Raw Ginger Ball Recipe email me sheree@livewithspirit.ca

Enjoy this amazing recipe, increase your plant based foods and watch your stress levels decrease and energy soar.

Wtih Love,

Sheree xo

Featured image

African Peanut Stew

Ingredients:

  • 1 tsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 medium sweet onion
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 red pepper, diced
  • 1 jalapeno, seeded and diced (optional)
  • 1 medium sweet potato, peeled and chopped into 1/2 inch pieces
  • 1 – 28 oz. can diced tomatoes, with their juices
  • S & P
  • 1/3 cup natural peanut butter
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper (optional)
  • 1 – 15 oz. can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 2 handfuls baby spinach or kale (destemmed)
  • Fresh cilantro or parsley
  • Roasted peanuts, for garnish
  • TIP: stir in some leftover rice

Directions:

1. In a large saucepan, heat oil over medium heat. Add onion and garlic and saute for 5 mins, until onion is translucent

2. Add bell pepper, jalapeno, sweet potato and canned tomatoes. Raise heat to medium-high and simmer for 5 mins. Season with S & P.

3. In a medium bowl, whisk peanut butter with 1 cup vegetable broth until no clumps remain. Stir into large saucepan with remaining 3 cups vegetable broth, chili powder, and cayenne.

4. Cover pan and reduce heat to medium-low. Simmer for 10-20 mins until sweet potato is tender.

5. Stir in chickpeas and spinach and cook until spinach is wilted. Season with S & P.

6. Ladle into bowls and garnish with cilantro/parsley and peanuts.  You can add some leftover rice for a heartier meal, too

Leave a Reply

