The best tomato soup recipe ever…I promise..some thoughts on stresssssss !!!

My weekend was great, it’s probably the first time I can honestly say that, since my husband died. I spent it with family and different friends and truthfully I was a little exhausted when it was over. Sunday night as I drifted off to sleep I reflected on how lucky I am to have so many great people in my life.

Friday night I went to the annual Christmas tree lighting in Grass Park, I was joined by my daughter, my step daughter and step son and their children. It was magical, the kids loved it and one of my greatest moments that night was watching my grandson Colton dance under the Christmas tree, just because he wanted too. The freedom of being a child and finding joy in small things is such a pleasure to watch. The legacy of my husband will always be in his children and grandchildren. In them I see his values and his sense of humour.

 Featured image

Saturday night I went for dinner with a friend and laughed so much, it’s great to have moments where the grief is not blanketing me with its sadness.

Sunday morning was great, I met some of my smart, fun, female friends for coffee and as always I left their company feeling inspired. Later that day I went to the Grand Opening of a new yoga studio and ended the day with more friends.

 It’s the time of year that activities make us busy and it’s easy to let ourselves get caught up in those activities and soon we feel run down and stressed. My solution to this is food and exercise, food is so important, while it’s okay to eat those holiday goodies and party foods, they tend to be heavy and slow you down, therefore contributing to the stress of this season. So make time to eat healthy in between parties and events, 20 minutes in the kitchen was all it took to make this healthy soup that will be my lunch all week. I’ll probably eat it with hummus and veggies and maybe some quinoa chips.

Today turned out to be a less busy day than expected, so this morning I rushed into the kitchen to get organized.  I generally cook for the week on Sunday afternoon but my busy weekend made that impossible. So this morning I marinated some Portobello mushrooms that I will bake rather than bbq, made tomato soup, I steamed some brown rice and will make some vegan black bean patties to freeze. This will give me a good base of go-to meals for the rest of the week, which is quite busy. I started today with some creamy oatmeal made with unsweetened almond milk topped with almond meal and chopped apple. I feel full but not stuffed and have great energy; soon I will head out for a run as the afternoon is busy. I find that exercise such a great stress reliever.

I’ve been called a fitness freak, fitness addict and more by friends trying to be funny and in truth I don’t mind, I can poke fun at myself, but answer to them is always this..I’m not a fitness addict I am a “fitness professional”, being fit is my business, it’s my lifestyle and it’s one of the keys to my high energy and love of life. It’s hard to feel energized when you are unfit and eating poorly.

This recipe is from the Oh She Glows Cookbook

Featured image

  If you buy one cook book this year I highly recommend this book.

1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1 small to medium yellow onion, diced  1 ½ to 2 cups

2 large cloves of garlic, minced

½ cup raw cashews, soaked

2 cups vegetable broth

1 28 oz can chopped tomatoes with their juices

1/4  cup oil packed sun dried tomoato’s

3 to 4 tablespoons tomato paste

½ to 1 teaspoon dried basil

¾ to one teaspoon fine grain sea salt

½ teaspoon freshly ground pepper

¼ to ½ dried thyme

  • In a large sauce pan, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the onion and garlic and sauté for 5 to 6 minutes, or until the onion is translucent.
  • In a blender, combine the soaked cashews and the broth and blend on high speed until creamy and smooth. Add the garlic-onion mixture, tomatoes and their juices, sun-dried tomatoes, and the tomato paste and blend on high until smooth.
  • Pour the tomato mixture into the saucepan in which you cooked the onions and set the pan over medium-high heat. Bring the mixture to a simmer, then stir in the oregano, salt, paper and thyme, all to taste.
  • Gently simmer over medium heat, uncovered for 20 to 30 minutes, unto the flavours have developed

Enjoy this great soup and remember Christmas is about hope not about stress, take time to yourself, let go of ego and perfectionism and take little moments in silence to reconnect to the source. Last year I wrote a pocket guide To Finding Incredbile Silence in your every day life.  If you would like a free copy email me at sheree@livewithspirit.ca

Enjoy life !!

With Love,

Sheree xo

Leave a Reply

